Paris Texas named Irish Pub of the Year 2019

***The Irish Pub Awards are returning in 2022**** For more info please visit the official website


Paris Texas in Kilkenny is celebrating after being named National Pub of the Year at the Irish Pub Awards 2019.  The Kilkenny pub was crowned national champion after winning the Innovative Pub of the Year, one of nine categories announced at the Gala Awards in the Concert Hall, RDS, Dublin 4.

Pictured receiving the National Irish Pub of the Year 2019 award is Pat Crotty from Paris Texas, High Street Kilkenny.

The Irish Pub Awards are jointly presented by Vintners Federation of Ireland (VFI) and The Licenced Vintners Association (LVA). This year over 1,700 applications were made to the Irish Pub Awards which are now in their third year. This figure has trebled since the introduction of the awards, which proves that this programme is being recognised by publicans around Ireland as a valuable way to promote their business.

Ever since Paris Texas was set up in 1996 by Pat Crotty, the pub has set out to be significantly different from its competitors.  It offers a new concept in food, along with entertainment most evenings and serves an extensive range of beer and spirits to challenge its customers’ taste buds. Since 2006, continuous development of Paris Texas has included redevelopment of the premises, the introduction of innovative new products, technology systems and significant investment to ensure environmental sustainability.

The Irish Pub Awards nine category winners are:

Best Food Pub sponsored by Musgrave MarketPlace: Murph’s Gastro Pub at Derragarra Inn, Butlers Bridge, Co. Cavan

Padraic McGann, President VFI, Damien Smyth, Sales Manager Musgrave Foodservices, Susan and Fergus Murphy, Murph’s Gastro Pub at the Derragarra Inn, Butler’s Bridge, Cavan, Ronan Lynch, Chairman LVA.

Best Tourist Pub sponsored by Molson Coors: Malzards Pub, Stoneyford, Co. Kilkenny

Padraic McGann, President VFI, Ciaran Budds, On Trade Director, Molson Coors, Neil O’Grady, Fred and Brid Malzard, Mary O’Grady, Malzards Pub, Stoneyford, Kilkenny, Ronan Lynch, Chairman LVA.

Innovative Pub of the Year sponsored by Bank of Ireland Payment Acceptance: Paris Texas, Kilkenny

Padraic McGann, President VFI, Barry Gray, Director of Marketing, BOIPA, Pat Crotty, Paris Texas, Kilkenny, Ronan Lynch, Chairman LVA.

Best Local Pub sponsored by Diageo: Harry Byrne’s Pub, Clontarf, Dublin 3

Padraic McGann, President VFI, Shane Barry, Quality Director, Diageo Ireland, Harry, Mark, Alan, Peter and Tom Byrne, Harry Byrne’s Pub, Dublin, Ronan Lynch, Chairman LVA.

Outstanding Customer Service sponsored by Heineken:  Aunty Lena’s and Adare Court House, Adare, Co. Limerick

Padraic McGann, President VFI, Charlie Chawke, Aunty Lena’s & Adare Courthouse, Patrick Conway, Commercial Director, Heineken, Doreen McDowell, David O’Shaughnessy, Aunty Lena’s & Adare Courthouse, Adare, Limerick, Ronan Lynch, Chairman LVA

Best Music Pub sponsored by IMRO: Kavanagh’s Bar and Venue, Portlaoise, Co. Laois

Padraic McGann, President VFI, Sarah Sweetnam, Financial Director, IMRO, Gavin Fitzpatrick, PJ Kavanagh, Niamh Kavanagh, Matthew Daly Minogue, Kavanagh’s Bar & Venue, Portlaoise, Laois, Ronan Lynch, Chairman LVA.

Best Outdoor Space sponsored by Bulmers:  The Courtyard on Sober Lane, Sullivan’s Quay, Cork.

Padraic McGann, President VFI, David Whelan, Commercial Director, Bulmers, Dolly and Finbarr O’Shea, The Courtyard on Sober Lane, Sullivan’s Quay, Cork, Ronan Lynch, Chairman LVA.

Best Newcomer sponsored by Edward Dillon: The Rusty Mackerel, Teelin, Co Donegal

Padraic McGann, President VFI, John Cassidy, Sales Director, Edward Dillon, Tracey and Robert Lynch, The Rusty Mackerel, Teelin Donegal, Ronan Lynch, Chairman LVA.

Best Late Night Bar sponsored by Irish Distillers – Pernod Ricard: Café en Seine, Dublin 2.

Padraic McGann, President VFI, Martin O’Mahony, Field Sales Manager, Dublin, Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard, Conor Kelly & David Murray, Café en Seine with Ronan Lynch, Chairman LVA.

Speaking at the Irish Pub Awards: Padraic McGann, VFI President expressed his delight at the number of award entries this year and congratulated all the finalists:  “Paris Texas and all tonight’s winners and finalists represent the very best in Irish pubs around the country.  All winners faced very stiff competition to reach the final.  Irish pubs are the hub of any community – a warm destination to meet friends where they can enjoy good food and drink, music and entertainment and where tourists can mingle with locals to experience an Irish atmosphere at its best.  These awards reflect the high quality of our pubs across Ireland, their ongoing investment in raising standards and their importance as community centres”, he said.

LVA Chairman, Ronan Lynch said: “The Irish Pub Awards have clearly established themselves as the definitive awards programme within the pub industry by trebling the number of entries in this its third year to over 1,700.  The programme has been acknowledged for the excellent national and local media coverage attained along with the in-depth management training that all finalists have received that is beneficial to their business. We are very pleased with the growth and success of the Awards in such a short time and it has now become a great vehicle to highlight the vital contribution that pubs make to Irish business, community and tourism.”

Partners to the Irish Pub of the Year Awards are: Media partner, Irish Independent and  Trade Media Partner, Drinks Industry Ireland