Local Hackney Pilot Scheme Launched

The National Transport Authority (NTA) has launched a pilot programme for a “localised” hackney scheme in 15 rural locations across Ireland. The pilot programme was initiated after widespread criticism that large areas of the country are without adequate public transport solutions. Successful applicants for the local hackney licence will each be awarded a €6,000 grant to run the service.The following will answer some questions about the service but any publican interested in applying should visit www.DLAH.ie for full details and access to application forms.

1.Can anyone apply to join the Local Hackney Scheme?

Yes, though you must live in or close by one of the designated areas (listed below). 

2. How do I apply?

Submit the completed Designated Local Area Hackney Pilot Programme Application Form to NTA – click HERE

3. What licence do I need?

You will require two new licences: A local area hackney vehicle licence (€50) issued by NTA for a suitable, appropriately insured vehicle and a local area hackney driver licence (€20) issued by An Garda Síochána for a driver who has been garda vetted. NB: You can apply to join the programme before applying for the two required licences

4. What type of car must I use?

It must be under ten years old; have a minimum of four doors; valid NCT; be insured to carry passengers for hire or reward (SPSV insurance)

5. When do I receive the €6,000 grant?

Where the Terms and Conditions of this Pilot Programme have been met, you will receive monthly payment directly to your bank account. Terms and conditions are detailed at www.DLAH.ie

To be a part of this programme, applicants must:

  • be resident in, or in very close proximity to, the area designated by map
  • provide this local service for a minimum number of hours weekly preferably including Friday and Saturday nights
  • provide this local service regularly for community events and activities at other times
  • provide a suitable, insured local area hackney vehicle, less than 10 years old, with an NCT certificate
  • be tax cleared
  • be of reputable character and fit to provide the service.

The designated areas are (click underlined text to access area map):

Cork          – Adrigole area
Donegal    – Lettermacaward
Galway      – Dunmore
Kerry         – Glencar
Kildare      – Kilberry area
Kilkenny   – Windgap
Laois         – Shanahoe area
Limerick   – Martinstown / Ballinvrena area
Longford   – Cullyfad
Mayo          – Louisburgh area
Meath        – Cormeen area
Monaghan   – Newbliss
Tipperary  – Annacarty
Waterford  – Knockanore
Wexford    – Ballyfad        

Further information and application forms are available at www.DLAH.ie

Alternatively you can call the SPSV Information Line on 0761 064000 or go to your nearest Local Link office.

The closing date for receipt of applications is 30th September 2019