Irish Pub Awards – Cork winners revealed

Some of Cork’s finest pubs are celebrating after coming out on top at the Irish Pub Awards 2017 regional final, which took place in The East Village Bar, Restaurant and Hotel, Douglas, Co Cork last night (Monday 18th September 2017).

They will now go forward to the National Awards Ceremony on 8th November.

The winners in the Cork Region are:

Innovative Pub of the Year sponsored by Bank of Ireland Payment Acceptance:  JJ Coppinger’s Bar from Midleton, Co Cork

Best Music Pub sponsored by IMRO: Rearden’s, Washington Street, Cork

Best Tourist Pub sponsored by Molson Coors: Shelbourne Bar, McCurtain Street, Cork

Best Outdoor Space sponsored by Bulmers:  Farrell’s Bar, Summerfield, Youghal, Co Cork

Outstanding Customer Service sponsored by Heineken: The Thomond Bar, Marlborough St., Cork

Best Local Pub sponsored by Diageo: Geary’s Bar, Main Street, Charleville, Co Cork

Best Food Pub sponsored by Musgrave MarketPlace: The Bodega, Cornmarket Street, Cork

Pub Personality of the Year sponsored by Irish Distillers, Pernod Ricard: Brian Barrett, Geary’s Bar, Charleville, Co Cork.

(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Corina Gough, Geary’s Bar, Charleville, Best Local Pub winner, Cork region, Elaine Kavanagh, Diageo

The Irish Pub Awards are jointly presented by Vintners Federation of Ireland (VFI) and Licenced Vintners Association (LVA).  A series of seven regional events will take place around the country between 18th September and 4th October to announce 56 finalists through all categories.

The objective of the Awards programme is to recognise and reward excellence and innovation across various categories in the Irish Pub Industry.  Entries closed on 30th June and judging took place during July and August.  The awards were presented by President of VFI, Pat Crotty and the category sponsors

Speaking at the Awards Ceremony, President of VFI, Pat Crotty expressed his delight in how well the Awards are going.  “Entries for the inaugural event surpassed expectations all around Ireland and the judges had a difficult decision to make to reach this final list”.

(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Rea Kennedy, Thomond Bar, Outstanding Customer Service winner, Cork region, Jonathan Barry, Heineken

“The pub is a central part of our hospitality and tourism sectors as well as being a meeting place for locals.  It is a major contributor to growth in our regional economies, so these awards will be an important vehicle to showcase the diversity that is available in the modern Irish pub and recognise the creativity and innovation that is already there”, he added.

(l-r) Garrett O’Donovan, BOIPA, Colin Ryan, JJ Coppinger’s, Innovative Pub of the Year winner, Cork Region, Pat Crotty, President, VFI

The National Irish Pub Awards are open to all members of VFI and LVA.  The 56 regional winners will be showcased as best in class in their area and will win a prize package of management training to help them progress their business further.  They will also avail of comprehensive media coverage including a profile in the special awards supplement which will be published in the Irish Independent on the day of the Gala Awards Ceremony to take place in RDS Concert Hall, Dublin 4 on Wednesday 8th November next.

(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Michael O’Sullivan, Reardon’s, Best Music Pub winner, Cork region, Joe Murphy, IMRO
(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Brian Barrett, Geary’s Bar, Charleville, Pub Personality of the Year winner, Cork region, John Ryan, Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard
(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Mark Lonergan, Shelbourne Bar, Best Tourist Pub winner, Cork region, Lisa Quilter, Molson Coors
(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Frank Broz, The Oldtown Whiskey Bar @ Bodega, Best Food Pub winner, Cork region, Jason Finnegan, Musgrave Marketplace
(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Mike Farrell, Farrells Bar, Youghal, Best Outdoor Space winner, Cork region (sponsored by Bulmers), Padraig Cribben, CEO, VFI