Clare scoops four Regional Irish Pub Awards

County Clare was celebrating last night after four of its pubs took home regional awards at the Irish Pub Awards South West finals, which took place in Cuchullainn Pub, Patrickswell, Co. Limerick.  They will now go forward to the National Awards Ceremony on 8th November.

The Clare winners were the Roadside Tavern, Lisdoonvarna, Fanny O’Dea’s, Ennis, Moroney’s Bar, Ennis and JP Clarke’s, Bunratty. Kerry and Limerick both took home two awards.

(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Martina Haier and Fergal Haier, Fanny O’Dea’s, Ennis, Best Outdoor Space winner, Southwest region, Gerry Ryan, Bulmers

The winners in the South West Region are:

Innovative Pub of the Year sponsored by Bank of Ireland Payment Acceptance:  Roadside Tavern, Lisdoonvarna, Co Clare

Best Music Pub sponsored by IMRO: Dolans Pub & Restaurant, Dock Road, Limerick

Best Tourist Pub sponsored by Molson Coors: South Pole Inn, Annascaul, Co. Kerry

Best Outdoor Space sponsored by Bulmers:  Fanny O’Dea’s, Ennis, Co Clare

Outstanding Customer Service sponsored by Heineken: Russells Select Bar, Dooradoyle, Limerick

Best Local Pub sponsored by Diageo: Moroney’s Bar, Ennis, Co Clare

Best Food Pub sponsored by Musgrave Market Place: JP Clarke’s, Bunratty, Co Clare

Pub Personality of the Year sponsored by Irish Distillers, Pernod Ricard: William Murphy, Murphy’s Bar, Dingle Penninsula, Co Kerry.

(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, William Murphy and Grainne Murphy, Murphy’s Bar, Dingle Peninnsula, Pub Personality of the Year winner, Southwest region, Lorcan Fitzsimons, Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard

The Irish Pub Awards are jointly presented by Vintners Federation of Ireland (VFI) and Licenced Vintners Association (LVA).  A series of seven regional events are taking place around the country between 18th September and 4th October to announce 56 finalists through all categories.

The objective of the Awards programme is to recognise and reward excellence and innovation across various categories in the Irish Pub Industry.  Entries closed on 30th June and judging took place during July and August.  The awards were presented by President of VFI, Pat Crotty and the category sponsors

(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Barry Tierney, JP Clarke’s, Bunratty, Best Food Pub winner, Southwest region, (sponsored by Musgrave Marketplace), Val Hanley, VFI

The National Irish Pub Awards are open to all members of VFI and LVA.  The 56 regional winners will be showcased as best in class in their area and will win a prize package of management training to help them progress their business further.  They will also avail of comprehensive media coverage including a profile in the special awards supplement which will be published in the Irish Independent on the day of the Gala Awards Ceremony to take place in RDS Concert Hall, Dublin 4 on Wednesday 8th November next.The overall category winners will also be featured by trade media partner Drinks Industry Ireland.

l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, John Whyte, Moroney’s Bar, Ennis, Best Local Pub winner, Southwest region, Ken O’Callaghan, Diageo
(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Thomas O’Sullivan, Russells Select Bar Outstanding Customer Service winner, Southwest region, Jim Fitzgerald, Heineken
(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Gary Percival and Jane Percival, South Pole, Anascaul, Kerry, Best Tourist Pub winner, Southwest region, Paudie Redfern, Molson Coors
(l-r) Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Valerie Dolan, Michael Dolan and Elaine Burgoyne, Dolan’s Pub, Limerick, Best Music Pub winner, Southwest region, Robin Smith, IMRO
(l-r), Pat Crotty, President, VFI, Peter Curtin, Roadside Tavern, Lisdoonvarna, Innovative Pub of the Year winner, Southwest region, Gary Walton, BOIPA