East Region winners celebrate in Sallins

Some of the finest pubs in counties representing the East Region are celebrating following their success at the 2018 Irish Pub Awards Regional Finals, which took place in Lock 13, Sallins, Co Kildare yesterday evening (19th September 2018).  All nine winners will now go forward to the final of the National Pub Awards at the RDS Concert Hall in Dublin 4 on Wednesday 21st November when the National Category Winners and the overall Irish Pub of the Year will be announced.

L to R: Mark Power, Diaego, Carmel Smyth, The Hideout Gastro Pub, Kilcullen and Padraic McGann, President, VFI – Best Local Award

The winners in the East Region are:

Kavanagh’s Bar and Venue, Main Street, Main Street, Portlaoise, Co Laois – Innovative Pub of the Year sponsored by Bank of Ireland Payment Acceptance

The Central Bar, Trimgate Street, Navan, Co Meath – Best Music Pub sponsored by IMRO

Micky Finns at the Wicklow Brewery, Redcross, Co Wicklow – Best Tourist Pub sponsored by Molson Coors

The Terrace at Dinn Rí, Tullow Street, Carlow Town – Best Outdoor Space sponsored by Bulmers

Silken Thomas Pub, Kildare Town – Outstanding Customer Service sponsored by Heineken

The Hideout Gastro Pub, Kilcullen, Co Kildare – Best Local Pub sponsored by Diageo

The Brass Fox, Wicklow Town – Best Newcomer sponsored by Hennessy

The Hanged Man’s Pub, Milltown, Newbridge, Co Kildare – Best Food Pub sponsored by Musgrave MarketPlace

Percy Clendennen, Giltraps Pub, Kinnitty, Co Offaly – Pub Personality of the Year sponsored by Irish Distillers, Pernod Ricard

The 63 winners from seven different regions will be represented as best in class in each area.  The prize package for all finalists will include a management training course to help them progress their business further.  They will also avail of comprehensive media coverage at local and national level, including a feature in the special awards supplement published in the Irish Independent on the day of the Gala Awards Ceremony at the RDS Concert Hall, Dublin 4 on Wednesday 21st November.

L to R: Enda Gallagher, The Central Navan, Karl Kinsella, IMRO, Sinead Barry, The Central, Navan and Padraic McGann, President, VFI – Best Music Pub

Partners to Irish Pub of the Year Awards are: Febvre Wine Company; Media Partners, Independent Newspapers, Trade Media Partner, Drinks Industry Ireland and Management Development Partner, Skillnet Ireland.

L toR: Steve Lynch, Bulmers, Eugene McGovern, The Terrace @Dinn Rí, Carlow and Padraic McGann, President, VFI – Best Outdoor Space
L to R: Ciaran Gallagher, Molson Coors, Ashleigh Williams and Leigh Williams, Mickey Finn’s, Redcross, Co. Wicklow and Padraic McGann, President, VFI – Best Tourist Pub
L to R: Valerie Flynn, Kasia Jaszczuk, Padraic McGann, President, VFI, Val White and Nicola McGrath, Silken Thomas, Kildare Town (sponsored by Heineken) – Outstanding Customer Service
L to R: Padraic McGann, President, VFI, Niamh Kavanagh and PJ Kavanagh, Kavanagh’s Bar & Venue, Portlaoise – Innovative Pub of the Year
L to R: Romina Serban, Musgrave Marketplace, Padraic McGann, President, VFI and Rachel Clarke, Musgrave Marketplace on behalf of The Hanged Man’s, Milltown, Newbridge – Best Food Pub
L to R: Éamon Fennell, Hennessy, Michael Farrell, Alan Walsh and Niamh Butler, The Brass Fox, Wicklow Town and Padraic McGann, President, VFI – Best Newcomer
L to R: Pat Flynn, Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard, Percy Clendennen, Padraic McGann, President, VFI and John Clendennen, Giltraps Pub, Kinnitty, Co. Offaly – Pub Personality Award

More News

Urgent Action Required to Address Taxi Supply Crisis in Ireland

Christmas 2023 – Pub Opening & Closing Times